An intro

My name is Angelicque Roa, I am an 18 year old college student attending the University of Texas at Dallas.  A month ago, I was hired at a Starbucks that was only a bike ride away from school and home. Only moments after receiving my green apron, I soon gathered all my black, white, and khaki clothes and imagined myself with the glamorous job of what is known to be a Starbucks barista. I did my dance, told my friends, and gathered up the courage to suck it up and drink a cup of coffee, finally.

Back when I was a high school student (so like yesterday) my friends and I always hit up the closest Starbucks during break, sipped on our super sugary caffeinated drinks, and hit the books. What kept us going here? It probably honestly was not the coffee, I mean, what did we know about good coffee anyways? It was the surrounding, the familiarity, and the simplicity  of ordering a tall white mocha.

I’m sure that this rings true for many students, and why we continue to pay almost 5 dollars for a latte could simply be answered by daily routine and consistency. Of course, I received looks from my other barista friends that worked at small, local coffee shops, telling me I was selling out or they felt sorry for me and I would “see” once I started working. So far, I haven’t “seen” what they were talking about. Just like anything, all our experiences are determined by our attitude, and I’ve decided to make the most of the time I have as a Starbucks barista.

So what do I expect to accomplish with this blog? I don’t know yet. That’s probably not the answer you wanted, but all my friends have all since moved away and gone to college (or France; yes you know who you are, lucky girl) and my Starbucks experience has now been completely flipped. I am now a part of other people’s days, just like many other baristas back when I was in high school, and I am completely and utterly in love with what I do. For now.

 

Leave a Reply

